The Randomness of Success

I believe in hard work, but up to the point you’ve put in the maximum you have, I also believe in not being hard on yourself and others. And for the times I forget that,

I think it’s merely the randomness of the winning and losing process that I want to stress, because the emphasis nowadays is so much on the justice of everything and politicians always talk about justice – now I’m a firmly believer in justice; I just think that it’s impossible. We should do everything we can to pursue but at the end of the day, we should always remember that whoever is facing us, whatever has happened in their lives, there will be a strong element of the haphazard.

Alain de Botton for TED

Leave a Reply

